Turning A Hobby Into A Profession

Editor’s note: This is part of a series highlighting member stories on SkillPages.  Amanda is a knitter from the US who uses SkillPages to showcase her skills in a new country.

Working With A Newborn

When I moved from the US to the UK, I found myself in a strange country with a newborn baby. So, in order to fill my numerous waking hours courtesy of our son, I took up crocheting and knitting.  These are interests that I’ve had since my college days but didn’t have enough time to hone at that stage of my life.  After a while it turned out I was rather good at them.  My favourite thing to knit is lace but I can do children’s clothing quite well also.

So, discovering I was good at something I enjoyed and that I could do it with a newborn attached to me, I joined SkillPages to offer out this talent to others.  I hoped there would be people out there who may have had the desire for such crafts but lacked the knowledge or skill to execute it themselves.  To my surprise and delight an old school friend found my SkillPages profile and commissioned a project from me!  That was about two years ago and I haven’t looked back since.

Doing What I Love

At the moment I have plenty work coming in with the holiday season coming up.  I really thought knitting was this thing that I was just going to do for myself and my family or perhaps for friends having babies.  Now, with SkillPages, it’s a great way for me to make a bit of money doing something I truly love.

It’s brilliant to have found this great community of talented people.  I recommend joining to anyone who has a skill that they feel confident about – there’s a place for everyone, and I’m pretty sure you can find your place here.

Amanda Needham, Knitter

Posted on October 31, 2012, in Success Stories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Turning A Hobby Into A Profession.

Comments are closed.