Finding Essential Skills To Keep My Business Going

Editor’s note: This is part of a series highlighting member stories on SkillPages.  Miriam is using SkillPages to source skilled workers for her hand made clothes line.

Starting A New Business

I started my own business last year selling a line of clothes and accessories for girls.  Originally I had secured a seamstress to make bags, skirts & shorts from denim, for me to sell on-line and at various events.  She was brilliant and it was all going well until the end of the year when she decided she did not want to continue with the work.

Straight away I started looking for someone new.  I went through a string of people who were just not reliable.  It was getting to the point that I may not find a suitable replacement and possibly have to give up on my new business.

Never Give Up

At this point I heard about SkillPages and decided to give it a try.  As a first time user I found it easy to compose a new opportunity, notifying seamstresses about my requirement.  I first got a response from someone living in Scotland who was interested. Whilst I was in discussions concerning postage, I received another e-mail from a lady living more local which suited a lot better for my business.  We exchanged a few e-mails and decided to meet up.  After a very successful meeting I found someone to make bags for me!

Neither of us could believe our luck at finding each other.  To think, she was so close to me all this time and all we needed was a way to connect.

I would not hesitate to use SkillPages again – it was brilliant.  If anything I wish I had joined sooner.  Anyone looking for work related to their skills, or in need of skilled people should give it a try.  It worked for me, when I had almost given up hope.

Miriam Ward, Retailer

Posted on August 9, 2012, in Success Stories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Finding Essential Skills To Keep My Business Going.

Comments are closed.