It’s Never Too Late To Chase Your Dreams

Editor’s note: This is part of a series highlighting member stories on SkillPages.  Valentina is following her dream of a more creative life with the help of SkillPages.

My name is Valentina Squitieri, I’m Italian but currently living in Bristol to train as an aerial circus performer.  Before this life, I came from a physics background, having done a Masters in Physics with Astrophysics.  That was a very intense, fascinating experience that I will never forget, but in truth I found myself craving a more creative and physical career.

This new life as a performer is fantastic, non-stop training in the physical, emotional, and creative spheres.  It’s helping me find the self-confidence I never had.  I believe it’s never too late to chase after long lost dreams, and this is exactly what SkillPages is allowing me to do.

Exploring Other Skills

I am predominantly using SkillPages to look for performing opportunities to further enhance my training, but have also included myself as a beginner in other skill categories – such as modelling and illustrating.  I’ve only been a member for a few weeks but I’ve found several really interesting opportunities and already been on one fashion shoot, with several more on the horizon.

My first experience was fantastic, I met some really interesting people and I can’t wait to do more.  I love that I am now exploring other hobbies I’ve always been passionate about but never had much time or courage for.

My advice: don’t get in your own way with preconceptions of what you can and can’t do – you never know until you try!  And why not use SkillPages to do it 🙂

– Valentina Squitieri, Performer/Model/Illustrator

 

Posted on July 25, 2012, in Success Stories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Blessing Tabala

    I ‘m happy about your history.

  2. I love Aerial Circus, especially silks and hoops! I also love Astrophysics! The very best of luck to you! I will keep an eye on your progress!

  3. wow this is loudly encouraging and so very positive …about living outside of our own comforrt zones and taking risks. and stretching ourselves.. Well done and keep going ..all the best to you. It’s hugely about mindset and the limits we often impose on ourselves that restrict. Have fun and enjoy whatever comes your way.